The Rapsody feat. Warren G & Sissel: Prince Igor (90s Nostalgia)


warren g

Released: October 1997

UK Chart Peak: #15

US rapper Warren G teamed up with Norwegian singer Sissel Kyrkjebø for the UK Top 20 single ‘Prince Igor’, which is based upon the Polovetsian dances of the 19th century opera Prince Igor. 

The collaboration stemmed from a project helmed by producers the Voelker Brothers called ‘The Rapsody Overture’. Released by Mercury and Def Jam Records, the concept album blended hip-hop and classcial music and  also featured LL Cool J and Reverend Run of Run-DMC fame.

Sissel, most famous for her vocal contribution to the motion picture soundtrack for the 90s blockbuster Titanic, delivers the Russian aria which becomes the song’s chorus whilst Warren G (“rap for me“) recycles his verses from a track that features on his album ‘Take A Look Over Your Shoulder’. 

I still love ‘Prince Igor’. When I was a teenager, it made me feel like I could convincingly sing Russian opera and it also taught me the word ‘beyatch’. Instrumental educational pieces in the lives of any adolescent, if you ask me.


One comment

Have your say below or join us on Facebook: