Steve Grand: All American Boy (Official Music Video Premiere)


20130711-080610.jpg

Steve Grand has been making waves in the US this past week, after debuting the official music video for his single All American Boy.

The 23 year old from Chicago is being heralded as the country scene’s first openly gay male star, with his clip for the unrequited love song having already racked up over 800,000 views in just a week.

It’s a big move from the singer who hailed from a catholic family in the midwest and was reportedly sent for ‘straight therapy’ after coming out at the age of 13. With no record label support or management, Grand financed the music video himself and it’s a heart-warming visual which evokes that youthful spirit of unrequited longing and carefree living that covers all the C&W bases; the American flag, bonfires, road trips, pick up trucks and, of course, whisky…

I feel like most music industry people wouldn’t like the idea of me “pigeonholing” myself by telling this story as I have. But I don’t believe the world sees change until it sees honesty,” Grand said about his decision to go it alone.

This is the story I’ve been aching to tell my most of my life… the universal story of longing to be loved…it is what I hold dearest to me.

3 comments

Have your say below or join us on Facebook: